Cider in the kitchen – Cocktails, Granitas and Cider Cake

Cider makes everything better from deserts to cocktails. Here are three blogs that feature cider as the main ingredient.

 

Tasting Lab: Recipe: FREEZE IT! Cider and Ice Cider Granitas.

frozen-ciders-e1372200738758

The warming temperatures inspired some cider experimentation. We made quick no fuss granitas from several ciders and ice ciders. Here are our results, and a few ideas for other freeze-ology experiments:

Tieton Cider Works Cherry Cider: A very fruit forward, apple cider blended with cherries from Harmony Orchards fruit grown in Eastern Washington State.  READ MORE

 

5 Hard Cider Cocktails to Try

cocktails

By itself a good hard cider is a wonderfully refreshing, mildly intoxicating beverage that is a terrific summer brew alternative for non-lovers of beer (me).  Add a little this, a little that, and you have a cocktail with some extra zing, more flavor dimensions and enough volume for multiple large sips while you stand around the grill. Here are five hard cider cocktail recipes to try in the upcoming months.

 

5. Oriental Peacock. The perfect pairing for chicken and shrimp teriyaki skewers or just those frozen vegetarian egg rolls from Trader Joe’s.

  • 4 ounces hard cider
  • 1.5 ounces melon liqueur
  • 0.5 ounces lychee liqueur
  • 0.5 ounces vodka

Combine all ingredients in a highball glass, stir and add two to three ice cubes. FOUR MORE COCKTAILS

Somerset Apple Cider Cake

100_9474

Recently I’ve been doing a lot of Victoria Sponge cakes, or chocolate sponges etc, one thing I never bake is a cake that has fruit it in, I’m not usually a big fan. I think the fear comes from Christmas fruit cake which I cannot stand, I’m on of those people do that ‘yuck face’ whenever any time of fruit cake is mentioned.

So I thought it was time to change this, it was really cold yesterday when I got in from work and it actually felt a bit wintery, so naturally I needed to bake to fill the house with heat and a yummy smell. So to break my no-fruit baking streak I went through one of my favourite recipe books  READ MORE

One thought on “Cider in the kitchen – Cocktails, Granitas and Cider Cake

  1. Pingback: The Critics Cider - The Non-Modern Man

Leave a comment