Cider Reviews with Patrick Huff

Hopped Ciders

 

I admit I have been on a hop kick and I am not referring to IPAs. Did you know cider makers add hops too? Are you surprised? I’m not, especially in the  North West where hops are like crack. Through a couple decent cider trades I have come across quite a few hopped ciders.

 

 As a matter of fact, Reverend Nat’s of Oregon hosted a cider fest of their own. They featured 16 unique hop infused ciders, mostly on draft,

 

Here are two unique ciders I reviewed recently:  Naked Flock Citra and Reverend Nat’s Hallelujah Hopricot.

 

hopricot

See the entire review of Hallelujah Hopricot  here

 

Jonathan Hull from Naked Flock was cool enough to send me a few ciders also and one of them happened to be a hopped cider called Citra.  Citra just happens to be one of my favorite hops with pronounced tropical notes.

 

Presently available from Naked Flock are the Draft, Citra and Original. Hopped ciders are becoming a separate style altogether and are gaining in popularity, so I have picked the Citra to review first.  Besides, it was the bitter cone-like sweetheart that turned me on in my early craft beer drinking days. Hops play an important role in beer production, adding bitterness, aroma and flavor.  As for cider, hops are not needed for balance as they are for beer but are primarily used for flavor and aroma, adding another layer of complexity. Enough of the nerdiness, here goes the review:

 

Read the complete review here  Naked Flock Citra

 

Naked Flock citra

Leave a comment